Hello world!

Since food seems to make up most of my life right now, I might as well blog about it. I prepare it constantly, I sell it at work, I sell it at craft sales, I talk about it with my friends, my husband is a chef, I’m constantly being asked by friends to bring this or that favourite dish that I make. I’m trapped by food! I might as well give in. I was inspired by my friend Ryan and his blog, Crispy Bits.

That being said, food and I have our issues. I am prone to binge-eating when I’m upset. And it’s never fresh vegetables I binge-eat, it’s always the baked goods, and the salty crunchies. I have been diagnosed with clinical depression long ago, and when I take my medication, this is somewhat under control. When I forget, which is far too often, it is not so great. Since I don’t participate in the purging, I am not considered bulemic. I’m just an extremely emotional eater.

On to the good stuff! This weekend, I participated in the Crescentwood Community Club Craft Sale here in Winnipeg. I made Whole Wheat Pumpkin Gingerbread, with pumpkins I grew in my garden. 25 of ’em. That’s a whole ‘nother story in itself. I also made one of my very very favourites, Lemon Poppy Seed Crisps. These sold out first! In addition, I made a wackload (that’s the technical term) of Rice Krispie Treats. Half had gummi bears in them, and half didn’t. The “with” ones sold out almost immediately, and the “without” didn’t sell until the bitter end. However, I am proud to say it all sold! Providing samples is the key.

For the Lemon Poppy Seed Crisps, using fresh lemon juice and zest is crucial. I have a great old juicer from my grandmother, which squishes out juice better than any modern contraption I have tried. For zest, I use a large bell-type grater to get the zest off, then chop it fine afterwards. I have yet to find a zester that gets fine zest while not taking forever. I will try to add a video of this technique soon!

One Response to “Hello world!”

  1. Mr WordPress Says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

